Why you should do that (even if you’re not going to make a career out of it)

 

wp-1498139765210.

Ever feel like you just want to do something just for the fun of doing it? Just because of your curiosity? However useless or bizarre it sounds…? You may not want to make a career out of it. You don’t even want to take it somewhere but you just want to learn it.

calligraphy with brushes…

book binding…

learning phrasal verbs…

idioms…

“Why are you doing this? This is not gonna help you with your future!”

We all have heard such comments. And they are partly correct. But the bigger problem is when you begin to believe in them.

“This is too crazy”

“After all, they’re right. How will it ever help me?”

Yes, I won’t make a career out of that activity. But there’s no rule that if, at this moment, it doesn’t seem to be contributing to my career, I should not do it.

Besides, you don’t know how dots connect. We simply can’t tell how what we do today just for fun will help us in future.

“You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something — your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.”
~ Steve Jobs

When I had first read it, it gave me a familiar feeling.

“Yes! If I hadn’t done that I wouldn’t have ever thought about doing that!”

This was my reaction. No doubt, I was elated.

So! Coming back to the point, why you should do an activity even if you won’t make a career out of it?

Because-

It’s always a Win

For me there are many such desires and I’m well aware that they are not long lasting. I mean, they are mostly one time thing. I wish to know about Buddhism or anything, I do it and then it’s over. Or….. I find something useful from these to use in my other projects. In both the situations it’s a win. In both the situations I gain what I came for.

Better utilisation of time

It’s definitely much better to do something exciting and something that you want to do instead of watching that boring TV show again.

Saves from over thinking = Happiness 😄

Okay. let’s face it. It’s a human tendency to begin to indulge in over thinking or negative thinking whenever we’re free. For me, especially. Therefore, I feel keeping yourself busy with the things you want to do is a good way to save yourself from it and to be happy. Smile!

christopher-campbell-37569

Exercise for brain

Doing new stuff stimulates the brain which I feel is very much like an exercise for the brain to keep the creative doors open. With ever new thing we learn, we develop a new pattern of looking at things.

You can read it in detail at this post by Steve Pavlina.

Because you want to do it!

This is the most important reason: because you just want to. Sometimes we over think about

Why should I do it?…

Will it ever be useful?…

….instead of allowing ourselves to do it.

Sometimes it’s better to say, “Just do it!”

***

Now, I don’t advocate leaving important things and just doing these little things whenever you want to. Obviously, good planning and time management is something that’s a must.

So do you take these desires within you seriously? How do you manage to do them?

Leave a Reply

