How I kickstart a productive day at whatever time I want

So you had decided you’ll begin at 10 in the morning. But..

Something happened, maybe something that made you take long to get emotionally stable. Or maybe a very good idea came into your mind and you just couldn’t stop searching the Google about it. Or maybe you just feel lazy.

And here you’re now, it’s 12 or so and you haven’t yet started. But you also know it’s important to do whatever you want to do. A big part of you even wants to get up and just begin. But you’re still not beginning. Yet another part of you is dealing with that ‘disappointing’ feeling that you get when you don’t keep promises you made with yourself.

I’ve been here a lot, specially these days. So I did some experimenting and came out with these steps-

  1. Get up!
  2. Wash your face
  3. Drink a glass of water
  4. Begin!

These are more like instructions that I gave to myself. And this is what I observed-

It kind of became a ritual. Now whenever I’m just lying down and I have to begin my work, I just say to myself Get up! and then I follow all these steps and begin to do my work. Anytime I want. Even after having wasted a lot of time. It somehow prepares me to begin. Beginning itself makes it easy to deal with the sad and disappointing feeling I get when I don’t do what I am supposed to do. This has become my method for now.(I don’t think it’s something permanent or that it’s going to stay with me forever. I keep on improvising my methods or changing them according to changes in my surroundings and life.)

Your turn: Discover

I strongly feel that what may work for me may not work for you. And that one must understand his/her needs and try to observe what works for him/her. No two people are same. So if you want, experiment and see what works for you. šŸ˜Š

***

How do you kickstart your day? I would love to listen to your ideas. Maybe I might find something useful to improviseā€‹ my methods.

Leave a Reply

