How I read 14 novels in a year (without ‘taking out’ time for it)

So you see, you have a big wish list of novels you want to read but you don’t have time.

Understandable.😊

April 2015 to February 2016- when I was in high school, I had recently joined this school, school hours were busy and then when I got home, I had academics and singing classes to focus on.

These are the novels I read that year-

  • The fault in our stars- John Green
  • The curious incident of the dog in the night time- Mark Haddon
  • Only time will tell- Jeffrey Archer
  • The sins of the father- Jeffrey Archer
  • Never let me go- Sachin Garg
  • Life is what you make it- Preeti Shenoy
  • Harry Potter and the philosopher’s stone-J.K. Rowling
  • The kite runner- Khaled Hosseini
  • Harry Potter and the chamber of secrets- J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the prisoner of azkaban- J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the goblet of fire- J.K. Rowling(636 pages, 20 days)
  • The canterville ghost- Oscar Wilde
  • A thousand splendid suns- Khaled Hosseini
  • Paper Towns- John Green

(Yes! I keep a record of novels and books I read 😅)

So how did I read all these? WITHOUT taking out extra time for reading?

By using the time that is already there, that is already spent everyday as a waste. For example, in my case, the traveling time in the bus from home to school and from school to home. Each ride was around 20-30 minutes long so in a day I had complete 40-60 minutes that were getting wasted anyway. Besides there’s nothing much to do in a bus. In each ride I could read around 16 pages after having seated comfortably. And at the end of the year I was myself surprised at the number of books I had read.

There are many examples of such situations-

  • The time that is spent waiting for someone or something
  • Long distance traveling in a train, bus or car

You get the idea?

Discover

Now it’s your turn to observe the way your day is usually spent and then see where you can adjust reading or any other activity that you want to do.

***

How do you adjust things you want to do in your day?

Leave a Reply

